Uncaring Nurses and Unnessary Withdraw…

It is bad enough to suffer pain every single day of your life, but when someone in the health field makes things even worse it really angers me. So here is what happened my boyfriend three weeks ago came down with shingles (for those that don’t know what that is. If you had chicken pox as a child then you run the risk of breaking out with a very painful case of shingles because the virus remains on the nerve endings.) he also somehow got a staph infection in part of the shingles so you can imagine he was downright miserable. After about three days we were both exhausted so I called my pain management clinic to cancel my neck injection. The nurse was pretty sarcastic and then told me she was also canceling my office appointment and at the time I was so tired it did not dawn on me what she said until like a week later so I called back to set up another office appointment and low and behold I get her again. So I tell her I need another appointment because I still needed to get my medication from the doctor so she tells me to hold and then a few seconds later she came back and said well the only time I can get you in is the 28th of May. Not wanting to argue I told her fine.

So I knew it was going to put me way past my 28 days so I tried to stretch my medication out by taking no more than two pills a day, but then it became obvious that at two pills a day it I was not going to make it so some days I took only one. Friday of last week came and I had four pills left and knew I was not making it to the 28th and between my boyfriend insisting I call his office and the Holy Spirit doing the same. In my mind I figured he wasn’t there because Friday and Saturday he is at his other clinic, but that voice in my head (the Holy Spirit I am not hearing the wrong kind of voices lol) kept it up until the pressure was so strong I couldn’t resist and finally called and this time I got his nice nurse and explained to her what had happened so she said she would talk to my doctor because he was there and would call me back. I waited for nearly three hours and decided to call her back and when she picked up she said she was just getting ready to call me and that the doctor said if I could make it there in an hour he would wait. So I called my boyfriend to see if he could leave early and praise be to God his boss let him leave.

After getting lost once because his GPS navigation was being stupid i finally got my phone out and used mine and we were closer than we thought and in minutes we made it there. I was so sure my doctor and his nurse was mad at me and was going to yell at me for making doctor wait for me. When I got there doctor came out and to my surprise he apologized to me for making me have to come in on such short notice ( government demands those taking narcotic pain medication to go into the doctors office every 28 days to get their scripts and they are not allowed to call medication into the pharmacy) so I let him know I appreciated him waiting for me. See by the time I got to Friday I was nearly 24 hours into withdraw and believe me when I say you never ever want to go through that is painful, you get terrible chills, but you sweat profusely, and for some reason my nose was stopped up, and I hurt from head to foot it felt like a toothache times a thousand all over. I could not sleep and it was near impossible to even function in small ways.

Thanks be to God, my  boyfriend, my doctor, his nice nurse, and my boyfriends boss I now have my medication and nearly all the symptoms have subsided. That other nurse should be ashamed of herself being a nurse she had to know that after two years of being on a narcotic pain killer that I would go into withdraw causing me even more pain. It was also dangerous because of other health issues I have and she put me in danger just because she did not like me canceling my injection appointment. I hope someday she realizes what a mean and insensitive thing that was to do to me or any patient for that matter. Working in a pain management clinic you would think she would have a very clear understanding of the effects of pain on people and be a little more kind to people.

2 thoughts on “Uncaring Nurses and Unnessary Withdraw…

Leave a Reply

