Sometimes it is a Guessing Game…

Most people would not believe you could find humor in chronic pain, but is there if you look for it. For instance I play a game with my pain doctor on what part of me will start hurting when he fixes something. The last time I had injections it was from the base of my skull to my tailbone. This gave me relief mostly in my lower lumbar  which is great, however now both of my shoulder joints hurt causing to not be able to lift my right arm over my head, and then both knees are being a pain literally. The pain is not so much funny but the fact that when one thing is fixed my body feels the need to make something else hurt. It is like my body does it on purpose and maybe it does it already tried to kill me with a stroke once lol.

The whole purpose of this blog is to find the funny, and good in life it is there you just have to lift your head and find it. The more negatively you think and feel the more you feel your pain. You also need hope and so long as you draw breath there is the possibility that something will be found that will ease your pain enough that you can more mobile than you are now. Some people won’t use the corticosteroids because it wears off after awhile, but sometimes you need to do what you can until something better can be found. Also it is time that you can cherish because it is good until it wears off and that is time for you to be more productive and be able to take less opiates than you do now. Your mind can be clearer and you can take a deep breath of relief for awhile and it is so much better than just opiates. I remember when I had my neck, back, and tailbone done after I got home and slept off the rest of the drugs from the twilight sleep I nearly cried and not from sadness or pain but from pure joy. For the very first time that I can remember in my life there was no pain in my lower lumbar, there were no muscle spasms there anymore my muscles were soft and pliable I could even arch my back by bending backwards and I have not been able to do that in at least 4 to 5 years. I know eventually it is going to come crashing back, but I am determined to enjoy any time I have before it wears off.

As I said before always dwelling on the negative only makes it hurt more. Always telling yourself “I can’t” limits you to misery. Now I don’t mean do things that you know that you definitely can’t or anything your pain doctor prohibits you from doing. Other than those things try and I mean really give whatever it is a good healthy try you might actually be able to do it. Another thing is do not stay indoors moping all that does is to make you sink into a deep depression and believe me that I know that is not a place you want to go. Even if it is just sitting on a chair for 20 to 30 minutes a day. If it is cold outside bundle up be go out it is so good for you to have sunshine and fresh air every day. If you are unable to go out without help then have your care giver to help you outside and sit with you 20 to 30 minutes will be good for you both.

Maybe I am just stubborn but I refuse to give up and I don’t care if my body says no I say yes and I win a good deal of the time. It is true that I am disabled however it doesn’t mean I have to crawl in my bed and lay there just waiting to die. I live my life and not simply exist from pain killer dose to the next. Be positive and do your best to laugh every single day no matter how bad your pain is. Go outside and get some of that free mood booster called sunshine and fresh air. Now I know it takes time to change but never give up not ever because as long as you draw breath there is hope.

Leave a Reply

